You can change the project (working) directory by editing the directory text field at the bottom of the main window. You can change it by editing it and entering <Return>. TCM checks if the directory exists and if it is accessible. This directory is intended for storing the files related to the current (sub)project that you are working on. It is used as the starting directory for the file selection dialogs for loading and saving documents.