The aim of the workshop is to bring together mathematicians with an interest in discrete geometry and its applications to symplectic and tropical geometry. We would like to create new discussions among people with diverse backgrounds (combinatorial, algebra-geometric, symplectic) about problems that received attention in recent years, like those arising in Ehrhart theory, the geometry of toric Fano varieties, the Mukai conjecture, toric degenerations, and the tropical Schottky problem. The schedule of the workshop will be relaxed with plenty of time for informal discussions. You can view the poster here.


  • Matthias Beck (San Francisco)
  • Alexander Caviedes Castro (Cologne)
  • Mathieu Dutour Sikirić (Zagreb)
  • Oliver Goertsches (Marburg)
  • Johannes Hofscheier (McMaster University)
  • Mario Kummer (TU Berlin)
  • Christopher Manon (Kentucky)
  • Raman Sanyal (Frankfurt)
  • Karin Schaller (FU Berlin)
  • Kristin Shaw (Oslo)
  • Filippo Viviani (Rome)
  • Robin de Jong (Leiden)
  • Timo de Wolff (Braunschweig)


Frederico Ardila (San Francisco State University), Matthias Beck (San Francisco), Aenne Benjes (Goethe-Universität Frankfurt), Helena Bergold (Fernuniversität Hagen), Ana Maria Botero (Regensburg), Marie-Charlotte Brandenburg (FU Berlin/ MPI Leipzig), Alexander Caviedes Castro (Cologne), Narasimha Chary (Bochum), Mathieu Dutour Sikirić (Zagreb), Xin Fang (Universität zu Köln), Oliver Goertsches (Marburg), Max Hlavacek (UC Berkeley), Arne Heimendahl (Universität zu Köln), Frederik von Heymann (Universität zu Köln), Johannes Hofscheier (McMaster University), Robin de Jong (Leiden), Daniel Kalmbach (RWTH Aachen), Stefan Krupp (Universität zu Köln), Mario Kummer (TU Berlin), Georg Loho (London School of Economics and Political Science), Sebastian Manecke (Goethe-Universität Frankfurt), Christopher Manon (Kentucky), Jana Nickel (Universität zu Köln), Jorge Alberto Olarte (Freie Universität Berlin), Valentin Rappel (Universität zu Köln), Silvia Sabatini (Universität zu Köln), Raman Sanyal (Frankfurt), Karin Schaller (FU Berlin), Matthias Schymura (EPF Lausanne), Kristin Shaw (Oslo), Mariel Supina (UC Berkeley), Zeinab Toghani (UK), Lilla Tothmeresz (Budapest), Frank Vallentin (Universität zu Köln), Filippo Viviani (Rome), Lena Walter (FU Berlin), Timo de Wolff (Braunschweig), Marc Zimmermann (Rostock)


Participation is free, please register by sending an email to

Organizers: Silvia Sabatini, Frank Vallentin

Sponsor: DFG through SFB/TRR 191 Symplectic structures in geometry, algebra and dynamics (Cologne/Bochum)